HOME > General Information > Education > College of Arts and Sciences Senior Division > Abroad in Komaba Program (AIKOM)


The AIKOM Program:

The AIKOM (Abroad In Komaba) Program is a one-year undergraduate exchange program between the University of Tokyo and 30 partner universities in 20 countries. It is operated under a formal short-term exchange agreement which stipulates mutual tuition waiver (whereby participating students pay full tuition to their home university), and credit transfer (whereby credits earned during the study year abroad and which fulfil stated requirements are recognised by the students' home universities). Applications are solicited from students in the Senior Division of the College (with the exception of a few Departments) and students of the partner universities. The College now sends, and receives, more than 25 students each year. A special curriculum is provided for AIKOM students at Komaba, which includes courses offered in English(including, Dynamics of Japanese Cultural History, Aspects of Japanese Society, Specialised Courses on Japanese Studies) as well as Japanese Language, and Directed Independent Study. All of these courses, except for the Japanese Language Courses and Directed Independent Study, are open to regular students in the Senior Division of the College of Arts and Sciences. AIKOM students who have fulfilled requirements for the special curriculum are also free to take regular courses in the College's Senior Division according to their academic interests and Japanese language proficiency.

Agreements with universities


  • Peking University (China)
  • Nanjing University (China)
  • Fudan University (China)
  • Gadjah Mada University (Indonesia)
  • Seoul National University (South Korea)
  • University of Malaya (Malaysia)
  • University of the Philippines (The Philippines)
  • Vietnam National University, Hanoi (Vietnam)
  • National University of Singapore (Singapore)


  • University of Melbourne (Australia)
  • University of Sydney (Australia)
  • University of Auckland (New Zealand)
  • University of Otago (New Zealand)

North and South America

  • University of Toronto (Canada)
  • University of Michigan (USA)
  • Swarthmore College (USA)
  • University of Washington (USA)
  • Johns Hopkins University (USA)
  • Princeton University (USA)
  • Pontifical Catholic University of Chile (Chile)


  • Universités Associées de Grenoble (France)
  • Université de Strasbourg (France)
  • Institut d’Études Politiques de Paris (France)
  • Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (Germany)
  • University of Warwick (England)
  • University of Geneva (Switzerland)
  • Università degli Studi di Roma “La Sapienza” (Italy)
  • Uppsala University (Sweden)
  • Trinity College Dublin, University of Dublin (Ireland)


  • Cairo University (Egypt)

Related Links


General Information